

INDIAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION (HQs.)

(Registered under the Societies Act XXI of 1860) Mutually Affiliated with the British & Nepal Medical Associations I.M.A. House, Indraprastha Marg, New Delhi-110 002

Telephones: +91-11-2337 0009 (10 lines), 23378680, 23378053, 23370352 / +91-9999116375, 9999116376, Fax: +91-11-23379470, 23370375 Website: www.ima-india.org; Email: hsg@ima-india.org



Dr. Ravi S. Wankhedkar (Maharashtra) Dr. Rajan Sharma (Haryana)

Dr. J. A. Javalal (Tamil Nadu) Dr. Pragnesh C. Joshi (Gujarat) Dr. P. Gangadhara Rao (Andhra Pradesh) Dr. Anil S. Pachnekar (Maharashtra)

Honorary Finance Secretary
Dr. Ramesh Kumar Datta (Delhi) Honorary Joint Secretaries Dr. Vijay Kumar Malhotra (Delhi) Dr. V. K. Arora (Delhi)

Dr. Amrit Pal Singh (Delhi)
Dr. Pijush Kanti Roy (Bengal) Dr. Sibabrata Banerjee (Bengal)

Dr. Usha Sridhar (Delhi) Dr. S. K. Poddar (Delhi)

Honorary Joint Finance Dr. Dinesh Sahai (Delhi) Dr. Iskandar Hossain (Bengal)

Dean of Studies Dr. Sudhir Dhakre (Uttar Pradesh) Honorary Secretary
Dr. L. Yesodha (Tamil Nadu) IMA AMS (Hyderabad)

Chairman

Dr. Natwar Sharda (Madhya Pradesh) Honorary Secretary

Dr. Mohan Gupta (Telangana) IMA AKN Sinha Institute (Patna)

Dr. Paramjit Singh Bakhshi (Punjab) Honorary Executive Secretary

Dr. Ajay Kumar (Bihar)

Honorary Edito Dr. Golokbihari Maji (Bengal) Honorary Secretary Dr. Sanjoy Banerjee (Bengal) Chairman

Dr. Ravi S. Wankhedkar (Maharashtra)

Dr. Vedprakash Mishra (Maharashtra) Your Health (Calcutta)

Honorary Editor Dr. Nandita Chakrabarti (Bengal) Dr. Kakali Sen (Bengal)

IMA N.S.S.S. (Ahmedabad) Chairman Dr. Kirti M. Patel (Gujarat)

Honorary Secretary

Dr. Yogendra S. Modi (Gujarat) MA N.P.P.Scheme (Thiruvananthapuram)

Chairman Dr. Krishna M. Parate (Maharashtra) Honorary Secretary

Dr. Jayakrishnan A. V. (Kerala) Apka Swasthya (Varanasi) Honorary Editor

Dr. Manoj Kumar Srivastava (Uttar Pradesh) Honorary Secretary Dr. Ashok Rai (Uttar Pradesh)

IMA Hospital Board of India

Dr. Vinod Kumar Monga (Delhi) Honorary Secretary
Dr. Jayesh M. Lele (Maharashtra) IMA Women Doctors Wing

Chairman Dr. Mona Desai (Gujarat) Honorary Secretary

Dr. Neeta S. Biyani (Maharashtra) IMA Mission Pink Health Chairman

Dr. Vijaya Mali (Maharashtra) Honorary Secretary Dr. Vibha Tandon (Delhi) **IMA Junior Doctors' Network**

Dr. Adit Desai (Guiarat) Honorary Secretary

Dr. K. M. Abul Hasan (Tamil Nadu)

Chairman

Dr. Sreejith N. Kumar (Kerala) Honorary Secretary
Dr. Ajoy Kumar Saha (Maharashtra)
IMA National Health Scheme

Chairman Dr. Ashok S. Adhao (Maharashtra)

Honorary Secretary Dr. Alex Franklin (Kerala)

Chairman Dr. Prashant Nikhade (Maharashtra) Honorary Secretary
Dr. P. Gopeenathan (Kerala) IMA National Family

Dr. K. Vijavakumar (Tamil Nadu) Honorary Secretary Dr. V. Sasidharan Pillai (Kerala)

National President

Dr. Santanu Sen

(M): 9830144496, 9013181020, 9870134600 Email: shantanu_sen2007@yahoo.com

Skype: drsantanu.mp

Honorary Secretary General

Dr. R. V. Asokan (M): 9847061563 Email: rvasokan@gmail.com

August 9, 2019

To

All the State Presidents and State Secretaries All the Local Branch Presidents and Secretaries

All the CWC Members

All the National Office Bearers

All Past National Presidents

All Past Honorary Secretary Generals

Dear Colleague,

The struggle against NMC has reached a crucial cross junction. It is true that the odds against the medical profession seem insurmountable. In our struggle for independence several such cross roads had arisen. The collective will and determination of the people of India ultimately succeeded in attaining freedom in 1947.

Dark clouds might have overshadowed the medical profession temporarily now. Like the Indian freedom struggle we will redeem our profession by civil resistance and sacrifice. Our freedom struggle starts now.

IMA resolves to fight the deleterious clauses of the National Medical Commission Act 2019 to its last. It is our duty to the generations of medical students of this country. IMA baptized in the freedom struggle of India is entirely capable of defending the Health of our people.

IMA appeals to all the sections of the medical fraternity, medical students, Resident doctors, Private practitioners, Government doctors, Doctors in uniform and central services, Insurance sector, Medical colleges etc to fight under the banner of Indian Medical Association. IMA reaches out especially to the younger generation of medical students and Residents to join this call at the moment of crisis.

When it is the darkest, Dawn is always nearby.

- IMA demands deletion of section 32, 50 and 51 (Quackery and cross pathy)
- IMA demands clarity and modification of sections 15 and 10.1 (i)(Exams and capitation fee)
- IMA demands amendments in section 29.3, 28.7, section 46,10d and f as well as section 8.2(Quality of medical education, autonomy of states and non medical person as Secretary)

Numerous inconsistencies and anti-people provisions also have to be modified and amended.

The following documents have been appended for your study and information. Further instructions on the plan of action will follow soon.

With regards

Dr. Santanu Sen **IMA National President**

Dr. Rajan Sharma National President (Elect)

Dr. R.V. Asokan Honorary Secretary General

Dr. A. Marthanda Pillai Chairman, IMA Action Committee

Doctors for Doctors and Community at Large All communications intended for headquarters office should be addressed to the Honorary Secretary General